Go Back   Bream Master Forums > General Bream Forums > Getting Started

Getting Started If you’re new to the Sport then this is the forum for you.

Old 06-05-2003, 07:33 AM
Mature Bream

Questions from a newbie!!

G'day all, great site, heaps of info.

But just a couple of questions from a novice.

Have only just got into breamin, and have had success on hardbodys but havent quite cracked the plastics yet. That doesnt bother me as im happy fishing hardbodys for the moment.

First question is, how many of you crush the barbs on your trebles?
The only reason i ask is because while fishing in the canning today with a friend, i scored a chemicaly sharpened treble in my finger due to a waywayd cast from my mate (OUCH!!!)

Also, how many of you fish the canning???
The site has truckloads of information regarding the swan, but it seems that not as many ppl fish the canning???
Like i said, im new to the sport, and live south of the river, so the canning is a convinient spot to fish.

My mate and i scored 9 in all today. Most were littlies around 20-25cm, but my mate scored a 37cm honker!!, beginners luck i reckon!!

Anyway, cheers for now guys and gals, and thanks in advance.

MATT
Old 06-05-2003, 07:53 AM
Mature Bream

Welcome mate,

Firstly I haven't had any unfortunate wayward treble accidents to make me want to crush the bards - as that would be my only reason...except for one cast a week or so ago that missed a target and hooked a big bear on a boat in the arse ! Nev can verify the story...as can the poor fella who copped it .

I fish the canning a little (I live 5 minutes away) and I've fished the canning bridge with a couple of guy's...so there are some who fish it! Just have to ask and I'm sure some one would have a shore bash some time with ya! Just PM me some time!

Herds
Old 06-05-2003, 08:10 AM
Mature Bream

G'day Herds, thanks for the reply.