Go Back   Bream Master Forums > Bream Boats > Motors

Motors Get the low down on which outboards perform best…

Old 10-04-2015, 03:32 AM
Big Bream

Choosing engine for the 4.3m Tinny

Was set on a 30hp suzuki, this boat will never be fished with more then 2 people and i have no need for exceptional speed in this boat, thus i figured cheap reliable 2 stroke will do the trick.

I have however become very accustomed to my Df 150 4 stroke and its whisper like engine that im scared to return to BRUM BRUM BRUM 2 stroke noises.Had me thinking is a 30hp e-tec a good compromise more expensive, but 300 hour before first service ? and better fuel economy then the 2 ... make the price worth it ?

i have no experience with e-tecs and they 'special oil etc' any advice would be greatly appreciated.

*Hull is a 4.27m Clark Pursuit carrying generally 1-2 slight build guys. 2 batteries front rear casting decks bow mount electric and 60l livewell.
Old 10-04-2015, 06:09 AM
Blue Lip

I have the same size boat with a 30 2stroke on it and it pushes along quite well (2 up and a shite load of gear) but to this day i wish i put a 40 on it.......an e-tec has no more power but use far less fuel and are much quieter .............Choose carefully grasshopper
Old 10-04-2015, 07:58 AM
Big Bream

i know it is asking for trouble but yamaha or suzuki if im going for a 40hp 4 stroke ?

also are the servicing costs still significantly more on these smaller engines between a 2 stroke and 4 stroke ?

Cheers for the advice guys have always found choosing my outboards quite hard not easy to test the same hull and configuration you plan to use prior to buying the actual thing haha
Old 10-04-2015, 09:07 AM
Mature Bream

ive had my 30 hp etec now for 6 years...love it...wouldn't have anything else!

PB Bream - hb: 38cm
PB Bream - sp: 38 cm
PB Bream - surface: in progress

Daiwa Battler Beowulf
Daiwa Ignis 2000

Daiwa Battler Water Zombie
Daiwa Luvias 2000
Old 10-04-2015, 09:09 PM
Mature Bream