Go Back   Bream Master Forums > General Bream Forums > Getting Started

Getting Started If you’re new to the Sport then this is the forum for you.

Old 14-09-2012, 01:13 AM
Mature Bream

Bream in gippy lakes

G'day all. Quick introduction. My names Michael. I'm a 24 year old electrician from south east Melbourne. I mainly fish westernport bay for gummies. Snapper and whiting.

I'm heading up to paynesville (gippsland lakes) tonight to chop up some wood for the dear old nan. However I will have time for a quick fish on Sunday before I come home.

Now I only fish for bream once every 18 months or so when I go up to my nans house, I've never tried hard however this trip I want to make a change henceDohmy new membership here. I'm planning on having one rod fishing with bait whilst I flick around an ecogear vibe on another rod.

Should I be trying to get hold of some sandworm or some frozen prawn? I'm planning on running a small pea sinker to the top of a size 4 hook.

Also what's a good bream hardbody that isn't going to break the bank, wouldn't mind having a couple of spares if/when I lose the vibe

I'm currently planning on fishing the Mitchell river somewhere near the silt jetties. I have fished here in the past. Dohdespite attempting a to catch a fish each year that I go up I've never been successful. I really want to change that this year with a bit of forethought. I'm open to suggestion about the location to try.

Sorry to ask so many questions but I really appreciate any and all help.
Old 14-09-2012, 01:20 AM
Banned

Welcome to the site!
Old 14-09-2012, 02:24 AM
Blue Lip

Gday Michael

If you do what you are planning on doing and persist, i dare say youll land a few...The guys on here are mainly lure anglers/ catch and release .. But saying that 99.9 percent went from dangling a sandworm or prawn...to spending their life saving on small pea sized lures... Crazy yeah, but thats the sport