Go Back   Bream Master Forums > Bream Boats > Boating Accessories

Boating Accessories Sounders, Fixings, Safety Gear and More



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #76  
Old 12-09-2010, 06:03 PM
bubba's Avatar
bubba bubba is offline
EnviroJigs
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,198
Steve,
Got a question for you. My Structure Scan keeps "resetting" its display. The sonar picture is perfect at all times.
Now what I mean by resetting is it will track the same as the sonar and then reset it self to 1.6m with no bottom display. Then it will work fine again. Occasionally it will get big blocks in the screen then reset. I thought it might be air getting around the transducer but its right next to the other transducer and that has no issues.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 13-09-2010, 03:40 AM
Stephen Wilson Stephen Wilson is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GoldCoast,QLD
Posts: 552
Hi Bubba
i dont get that on mine so im not sure about it
i will have a chat to the Lowrance techs and get back to you on it
doesnt seem right to me
you could try a reset but not sure if that will fix the problem

__________________
sponsored by
BRP
Simrad
Pflueger
Berkley
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 13-09-2010, 03:56 AM
Stephen Wilson Stephen Wilson is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GoldCoast,QLD
Posts: 552
Hi there Bubba
while i remember
here is a link that has the HDS10 protectors
http://www.nushield.com/specials.php
just go down put in Lowrance then select the model
hope this helps
__________________
sponsored by
BRP
Simrad
Pflueger
Berkley
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 14-09-2010, 12:53 AM
ptr244's Avatar
ptr244 ptr244 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
Hi Bubba, I had the same issue initially, fixed it by putting LSS transducer lower, needs to be deeper in the water. Cheers
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Old 14-09-2010, 03:40 AM
Stephen Wilson Stephen Wilson is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GoldCoast,QLD
Posts: 552
thanks PTR244
see if that works Bubba
__________________
sponsored by
BRP
Simrad
Pflueger
Berkley
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Old 28-09-2010, 07:43 AM
roscopico70 roscopico70 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 67
hds lover

just installed my hds 10 with structure scan and all i can say is..... wow!.... i had seen many of the screen shots of the structure scan but to use it myself and see underwater shots like they were taken with a camera was pretty amazing. i drove past a few of the industrial jettys in rockingham and could see everything clear as a bell and the picture stayed clear up to about 15 knot's which i was warned on many forums would not happen..... happy as!
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Old 29-09-2010, 08:00 PM
bubba's Avatar
bubba bubba is offline
EnviroJigs
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,198
Thanks Steve and PTR. Just got back from the Goldie so I will give it a go.

Steve Iw as going to hit you up about the protectors during the comp but didnt get a chance to catch up with you! Thanks for the protectotrs. I will order now
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Old 02-10-2010, 01:43 AM
roscopico70 roscopico70 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 67
just wondering what to adjust if i am reading what looks like very lumpy bottom on what i know is flat sand bottom on my sounder. seems to read well in shallower depths but in 100 feet is when i am having the problem. have not really had a crack at it yet myself but thought i would ask the question to save some time. thought i might add that i was supplied a hst-wsbl 106-72 200khz tranducer with the unit.

Last edited by roscopico70; 03-10-2010 at 07:47 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Old 05-10-2010, 04:49 AM
Stephen Wilson Stephen Wilson is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GoldCoast,QLD
Posts: 552
roscopico70
Im not sure without seeing a screenshot ....could be a school of fish ??? not sure. you should be able to tell if it is part of the bottom or just off. i cant answer without seeing it.
As for the transducer it should work well with the HDS 83-200
try the 83 at slow speeds when you are sounding around gives great detail. when traveling at speed run it at 200
bubba
at the Gold Coast comp i left early after i weighed in to watch the mighty saints and watched the rest of the weigh in on the net while i was watching the footy.
just dissapointed with the result last weekend.
those screen protectors look the goods i will have to get one for my new sounder
__________________
sponsored by
BRP
Simrad
Pflueger
Berkley
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Old 18-10-2010, 06:43 AM
Mooza81's Avatar
Mooza81 Mooza81 is offline
Mature Bream
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 191
Hds gauge display through nmea200

So. As far as i can tell the HDS series sounders will let me view a full set of diagnostics for my new Yamaha f60. Is this correct? Also can I show the figures in an overlay over the charts or sounder? I mainly want to monitor temps and pressures an dont need a fancy gauge for that. What else do I need to purchase apart from the unit ant the Lowrance t cable with the yamaha to NMEA 2000 network fitting.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Old 18-10-2010, 11:03 PM
Stephen Wilson Stephen Wilson is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: GoldCoast,QLD
Posts: 552
Hi there Mooza81
As long as your yamaha F60 is NMEA 2000 compliant which it should be. You can overlay data on top of your screen, instead of using the instrument screen.
You can customise any screen to show the data that you want.
It is also dependant on the F60 to what can be displayed. so check that it can output pressure and internal temp if it does it can displayed on screen.
hope this helps

Catch ya
Stephen
__________________
sponsored by
BRP
Simrad
Pflueger
Berkley
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Old 18-10-2010, 11:12 PM
Ian Sewell's Avatar
Ian Sewell Ian Sewell is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Perth
Posts: 1,432
Roscopico 70 I would be keen to see a photo of how you have and where you have mounted your structure scan transducer, I find I have to go quite slow to get a decent picture and was about to remount the transducer, so seeing yours would be helpful...

Also your flat bottom problem could in fact be the swell if you are in the ocean, by going up and down it will look like a very up and down bottom instead of flat.

If you are in a closed or sheltered water then the bottom is probably undulating like you are seeing, very hard to pick from above.

Ian.
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Old 18-10-2010, 11:18 PM
bubba's Avatar
bubba bubba is offline
EnviroJigs
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Perth, WA
Posts: 1,198
Yeh dropping my transducer didnt help either. I hjave to go very slow for a clear picture
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Old 18-10-2010, 11:39 PM
ptr244's Avatar
ptr244 ptr244 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
can you post up a couple screen shots, also a photo of the transducer set up on the boat. And have a look at tacklebox electronics forum, there are some shots there of set ups that weren't working initally and with a bit of tweeking were fixed up.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Old 18-10-2010, 11:56 PM
Mooza81's Avatar
Mooza81 Mooza81 is offline
Mature Bream
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Tasmania
Posts: 191
Thanks for the info.
Tight lines.
Mooza
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Google