Go Back   Bream Master Forums > Bream Boats > Boating Accessories

Boating Accessories Sounders, Fixings, Safety Gear and More



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 11 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
  #211  
Old 20-12-2014, 06:16 PM
breambarron breambarron is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 76
This happened to my hds7 gen2 my sonar still worked but no water temp there ended up being a small kink in the transducer cable from the folding system on the bow mount minnkota,I swaped the transducer over(lucky I had a spare) and bingo working water temp again
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #212  
Old 20-12-2014, 09:58 PM
ptr244's Avatar
ptr244 ptr244 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
A victim of my own advice. I use my sounder at various fishing shows doing demo's, as it turns out the temperature wasn't displaying because I or someone "playing" with my sounder at the recent Cod Classic altered the transducer setting. I had even posted this up on our Facebook page & it's worth noting again..."A must read for all Lowrance owners, I get to see on average 3 sounders a week and not one of them is set up properly with the most common error being the wrong settings in the transducer installation. This is very easy to check, first up take note of the transducer type, this is found on the silver tag attached to the transducer cable. Then power up the sounder select "Settings" "Sonar" "Installation" In the drop down list, select the transducer type and save. There is a very good reason why these transducers are sold separately as applications change depending on areas fished. Having the correct transducer installed can make a massive difference." Thanks for the reply breambarron, got me thinking along the right path.
Reply With Quote
  #213  
Old 20-12-2014, 10:13 PM
Bash's Avatar
Bash Bash is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptr244 View Post
A victim of my own advice. I use my sounder at various fishing shows doing demo's, as it turns out the temperature wasn't displaying because I or someone "playing" with my sounder at the recent Cod Classic altered the transducer setting. I had even posted this up on our Facebook page & it's worth noting again..."A must read for all Lowrance owners, I get to see on average 3 sounders a week and not one of them is set up properly with the most common error being the wrong settings in the transducer installation. This is very easy to check, first up take note of the transducer type, this is found on the silver tag attached to the transducer cable. Then power up the sounder select "Settings" "Sonar" "Installation" In the drop down list, select the transducer type and save. There is a very good reason why these transducers are sold separately as applications change depending on areas fished. Having the correct transducer installed can make a massive difference." Thanks for the reply breambarron, got me thinking along the right path.
I didn't even know that!!! Thanks for the info. Is there any other way to find out what type my tranny is? My one is installed already that's why...

Bash
Reply With Quote
  #214  
Old 21-12-2014, 01:56 AM
ptr244's Avatar
ptr244 ptr244 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bash View Post
I didn't even know that!!! Thanks for the info. Is there any other way to find out what type my tranny is? My one is installed already that's why...

Bash
No way of looking at transducer cable? the silver tag is usually very close to the head unit. I think the only other way would be to try & match up the ducer via photo's on web site.
Reply With Quote
  #215  
Old 21-12-2014, 07:31 PM
Bash's Avatar
Bash Bash is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Sydney
Posts: 729
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptr244 View Post
No way of looking at transducer cable? the silver tag is usually very close to the head unit. I think the only other way would be to try & match up the ducer via photo's on web site.
All done mate. Thank you again for the info. Does structure scan need a special setting for it as well?
Reply With Quote
  #216  
Old 21-12-2014, 07:43 PM
ptr244's Avatar
ptr244 ptr244 is offline
Poddy Bream
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bash View Post
All done mate. Thank you again for the info. Does structure scan need a special setting for it as well?
No Bash, use 455khz not 800 they say better results, that's all
Reply With Quote
  #217  
Old 05-01-2015, 02:27 AM
CK's Avatar
CK CK is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ADELAIDE
Posts: 1,482
Too much sensitivity on the right and not enough on the left?
Cant see where to adjust the sensitivity in dsi though??
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 2015-01-05 16.53.25.jpg (581.8 KB, 3 views)
__________________
Proudly Supported by;
Hyper Tackle - Zipbaits



PB Bream - Bait 42cm
PB Bream - SP 52cm
PB Bream - HB 44cm

Its a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #218  
Old 05-01-2015, 07:14 AM
ruski's Avatar
ruski ruski is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,884
Hey Ck. You can't adjust the sensitivity on the down imaging. Just contrast. Given that it runs on a different frequency is often the reason why you don't get identical images on both. Also depends on the species of fish and how quickly they are traveling.

Crank up the sensitivity on that traditional sonar. Your screen looks way too clear and uncluttered
__________________
Supported by:
----------------------
Lowrance | Millerods

Follow my fishing travels on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #219  
Old 05-01-2015, 03:11 PM
CK's Avatar
CK CK is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ADELAIDE
Posts: 1,482
Thanks Ruski.
Any idea what the downscan image might be showing?
__________________
Proudly Supported by;
Hyper Tackle - Zipbaits



PB Bream - Bait 42cm
PB Bream - SP 52cm
PB Bream - HB 44cm

Its a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #220  
Old 05-01-2015, 05:41 PM
ruski's Avatar
ruski ruski is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,884
It's definitely a school of fish - moving quickly. There's a couple in the bottom left of the downscan image that are fairly well stationary and they look like white rice grains, but the others are on the move so it's hard to say! Could be a big school of slimeys, salmon, tailor etc...depends on where you were i guess mate.

Cheers,
Paul
__________________
Supported by:
----------------------
Lowrance | Millerods

Follow my fishing travels on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #221  
Old 05-01-2015, 11:04 PM
CK's Avatar
CK CK is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: ADELAIDE
Posts: 1,482
Thanks Ruski.
The lines are remenisent of what i would expect to see if salmon trout were about. So i guess this is what they were.
So being quite a noob at these things could the fact that the 455kw cone is wider than that of the 200, that the fast moving fish are outside of the 200 cone?
Sensitivity is currently at 43%
I also had another screen shot where there were some sizeable cigar shaped objects on the dsi but nothing on the sonar. At the current setting i am still picking up and seeing clearly, bait schools on both the sonar and dsi at times
__________________
Proudly Supported by;
Hyper Tackle - Zipbaits



PB Bream - Bait 42cm
PB Bream - SP 52cm
PB Bream - HB 44cm

Its a work in progress
Reply With Quote
  #222  
Old 06-01-2015, 01:38 AM
ruski's Avatar
ruski ruski is offline
Blue Lip
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 2,884
Quote:
Originally Posted by CK View Post
Thanks Ruski.
The lines are remenisent of what i would expect to see if salmon trout were about. So i guess this is what they were.
So being quite a noob at these things could the fact that the 455kw cone is wider than that of the 200, that the fast moving fish are outside of the 200 cone?
Sensitivity is currently at 43%
I also had another screen shot where there were some sizeable cigar shaped objects on the dsi but nothing on the sonar. At the current setting i am still picking up and seeing clearly, bait schools on both the sonar and dsi at times
That's spot on, given that the 455 is much wider, those fish could have been likely just outside the field of the 200khz beam...BUT the other key reason they're not on your standard sonar screen is because your sensitivity is at 43% Crank it up to at least 60-65 and up from there. Yes there will be clutter but you will pick up a LOT more detail than what you are currently seeing (or not seeing by having it so low).

Cheers,
Paul
__________________
Supported by:
----------------------
Lowrance | Millerods

Follow my fishing travels on Facebook
Reply With Quote
  #223  
Old 04-02-2015, 11:46 PM
Shanga Shanga is offline
Fingerling
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 4
HDS7 Gen2 Structure Scan Transducer Set Up.....

Hi,

Could anyone help me with a bit of info on installing my LSS 2 Transducer onto my Quintrex 435 Hornet?
I currently have a 50/200 mounted on the starboard side and was thinking of installing the LSS 2 between this and the motor. This would put the distance between the two transducers around 150mm. (Lowrance recommend keeping the two ducers within 300mm for the overlay feature)
Is this the best place to mount the LSS2 ?
Does anyone have a Hornet that has Structure Scan and a 50/200 mounted up all working correctly as a reference?
Id appreciate any help I can get before I start drilling holes all over the place.....
Cheers in advance
Shane
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_6602.JPG (696.0 KB, 1 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_6604.JPG (603.3 KB, 4 views)
Reply With Quote
  #224  
Old 05-02-2015, 06:16 AM
nabs's Avatar
nabs nabs is offline
Big Bream
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: brisbane
Posts: 932
Shanga,

It can be tricky to get it all perfect in one go as all boat set ups are different. What I did was bolt a piece of plastic to the transom and then screwed the transducers into that. This allowed me to move them around without adding more holes into the boat.

I personally think you would be better off moving the 50/200 more towards the right and mounting the LSS transducer where the 50/200 was. Going closer to the outboard may cause more water disturbance. Also make sure the LSS is slightly lower than the 50/200.

Something like this image here. I just bought a cutting board and cut it to suit.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_1314.jpg (33.2 KB, 116 views)
__________________
Cranka
TT Lures
Reply With Quote
  #225  
Old 05-02-2015, 07:46 PM
parmo's Avatar
parmo parmo is offline
Mature Bream
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 100
I did the same as nabs, used chopping board incase i needed to move it around and also to limit holes in the hull.
This set up works perfect, my structure scan holds bottom at 50kmh not that it really needs to as the skimmer does also.
The only thing is when on side scan the leg of the motor does block the left side unless i have it trimmed right up which isn't a problem as I'm only putting around when sounding usually

Hey nabs do you get a rooster tail off your transducers? my was really bad sprays all over the motor so i got a stainless bracket made up to divert the spray.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg transducers.jpg (72.9 KB, 96 views)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On



All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Google