Go Back   Bream Master Forums > General Bream Forums > Getting Started

Getting Started If you’re new to the Sport then this is the forum for you.

Old 14-05-2015, 04:02 PM
Blue Lip

Yak fishing tips .... Getting started

A pedal yak isn't in my immediate future so I'm going to have another crack at a paddle yak. I used to be a kayak instructor a few decades ago so I'm rusty but im pretty covered in terms of basic paddling.

What I'm not any good at is fishing at the same time. Other than targeting areas with minimal or no current what are the key techniques for fishing estuarine environments and the metro rivers (I'll be in the Nong mainly). So it's small drop-offs banks, bridges, pylons etc.

is it all just drift fishing? Any tips on how you setup for, approach and fish various structure in a paddle yak?

I've had a search around the net but can't really find much that covers the basic stuff of how to fish from a yak - it's usually fishing technique or equipment focused - very little on boat positioning, control - or how you're meant to manage a rod and the boat at the same time.

Thanks
Old 14-05-2015, 05:13 PM
Blue Lip

Where you can, always approach your target area from down current, you'll find you don't get pushed around to much especially in a longer yak with a decent keel. Then you only need the of little paddle stroke to stay in position and can work structure over nicely then move forward to the next bit as opposed to drififng with the current and going straight past and getting maybe one good cast and retrieve
Old 14-05-2015, 05:35 PM
Blue Lip

Definitely get/make a little hand paddle dave. Very helpful when positioning the yak during a fight.
Old 14-05-2015, 06:42 PM
Mature Bream